Date: 21st May 2016 at 8:44am
Written by:

The decision has been made to release, in effect every (senior) out of contract player!

Blackburn have confirmed Tommy Spurr, Matt Kilgallon, Chris Taylor, Chris Brown, Lee Williamson, Nathan Delfouneso, Simon Eastwood and Simeon Jackson are all free to leave Ewood Park with some welcomed others will be seriously questioned raising further concerns about the direction Rovers are heading in….

All eight will be out of contract next month so can therefore arrange deals with new clubs, which could officially be signed when these existing deal end on 30th June.

But some have been informed the ‘final decision’ will be made by the new boss (whoever that is) when they’re appointed with the statement confirming the players release saying.

‘However, several players have been informed that final decisions over their futures will be made once a new manager has been appointed.’

Will those awaiting this final decision wait though? If offers from other clubs do come in the meantime probably not, which would be understandable wouldn’t it….

Jack Doyle and Connor Thomson have both ‘agreed additional one-year deals’ so the youngsters will stay with three scholars, Josh Askew, Ramirez Howarth and Lewis Travis, have all agreed professional deals.

Stuart Callaway, David Carson, Modou Cham, Ryan Crump, Anton Forrester, Devarn Green, Sam Joel, Sam Lavelle, Jan Pirretas, Jordan Preston, Hyuga Tanner and Luke Wall have all been informed (some have been with Blackburn for years as youngsters) they’ve got no future with Rovers though.

Thanks and well wishes for those leaving was offered.

‘Rovers would like to place on record their thanks to each player for their hard work and dedication during their time at Ewood Park and wish them all the best for the future.’

What do we think of the retained list? Well the released list really!

Join The Vital Debate