Date: 4th August 2016 at 11:07am
Written by:

With the 2016/17 season kicking-off on Saturday when Norwich visit Ewood Park for the Championship opener the Blackburn squad numbers for the upcoming campaign have been announced.

Obviously the summer arrivals of Gordon Greer, Liam Feeney, Jack Byrne, Anthony Stokes, Danny Graham and Stephen Hendrie have all been handed numbers with those who were retained by Blackburn in the main sticking to what they had.

The one, and only, change to the squad numbers of last season has seen Jason Steele take on the no.1 shirt, which tends to suggest he’ll start the season as the first choice ‘keeper for Blackburn.

Greer, Feeney, Byrne, Stokes and Graham will wear the numbers 3, 7, 8, 9 and 12 respectively, with Graham retaining the number he wore last season during his loan spell from Sunderland. West Ham loanee Hendrie has chosen no.20.

1 Jason Steele
2 Adam Henley
3 Gordon Greer
6 Jason Lowe
7 Liam Feeney
8 Jack Byrne
9 Anthony Stokes
10 Ben Marshall
12 Danny Graham
15 Elliott Ward
18 John O’Sullivan
20 Stephen Hendrie
21 Hope Akpan
22 Shane Duffy
23 Danny Guthrie
24 Ryan Nyambe
26 Darragh Lenihan
27 Willem Tomlinson
28 Connor Mahoney
29 Corry Evans
31 Elliott Bennett
32 Craig Conway
33 David Raya
34 Scott Wharton
36 Jack Doyle

There’s still a few number gaps that could, if not should (and would) be plugged between no and the end of August you would think?

Join The Vital Debate